Kuwaitaminute! The Best Of The Country In One Week.

Happy April! I can barely believe we have only 8 weeks left here in Kuwait.

From a teacher’s perspective, spring break is over, and we only have a few more lessons to plan, papers to grade, and, sadly, smiling faces to greet. Why is teaching so fantastic, you ask? Because every year is a living organism. Unique in its own way, inevitably different from the last. There is a birth, growth, and renewal every nine months unlike any other profession.

From an expat’s perspective, there’s a lot I need to cram in before saying “Masalama” to this country for the last time. Luckily, my mother came to visit in March, and I had to chance to highlight the best of Kuwait over the course of one week. Together we ate at my favorite restaurants, saw my favorite sights, and laughed at my favorite enigmas. Please enjoy the photo journey as I give you, “The Best of Kuwait in One Week”.

IMG_4785My lovely mother in front of the Kuwait Towers. We unfortunately couldn’t go into the towers themselves because they were under construction (for how long? who knows…) so we relaxed outside for a while, taking in the distinct smell of Kuwait ocean air. We snapped a few photos and then walked to one of my favorite shisha/smoothie cafes on the Gulf, Fresh Mango.

IMG_4777

Another highlight of our trip was the new addition at The Avenues. They’ve added an entire “Souk” section that I had never seen before. We spent hours wandering the passageways, peering into “traditional” shops. In the above photo my mother is trying Arabic coffee for the first time. If I recall, she said she preferred American.

IMG_4773 IMG_4770

The impressive new addition at The Avenues.

IMG_4769

It’s not a trip to Kuwait without visiting the Friday Market. My mom was a bit overwhelmed with the crowds and the size of it all, but we had fun looking at the strange knick-knacks.

IMG_4768

I couldn’t believe they were selling Sea Monkeys at the Friday Market! I haven’t seen these since I was a kid. I had to restrain myself from pulling out my wallet and buying one (or three).

IMG_4766

My mom pointed this out, otherwise I would have walked right by. We also had this when I was a kid; it’s a triops. We actually had this same kit, and “grew” the same triops. To be honest, it’s a bit disgusting in hindsight. If you currently live in Kuwait, these would make a great gift for the scientist in your family!

IMG_4765

As always, we had to stop and stare at the shiny things : )

IMG_4762

This is my favorite restaurant in Kuwait, Banana Leaf. I have blogged about it before, but here is a photo of my all-time favorite dish, the thali. It’s a traditional Indian lunch platter, with the most delicious assortment of vegetarian curries, sauces, and sautes. I can never get enough! (And it’s all for 1 KD!)

IMG_4754

Sean and my mother at the Old Souk (Souk Mubarikiya) in Kuwait City. We were just about to load up on some baklava.

IMG_4743

At the Old Souk, Sean tells a gripping narrative of Kuwaiti history.

IMG_4727

I finally found the Sri Lankan restaurant in Kuwait City! While I loved it, my mom was fanning flames out of her mouth. It’s right across from the McDonald’s/bus stop area. I can’t wait to go back!

IMG_4726_2

We also spent an afternoon at the Old Souk with some shisha and storytelling. This area is also a new addition to the Old Souk; I love the architecture.
IMG_4724

For the first time, I stumbled upon an actual garden within the Old Souk!

IMG_4710

Spending a relaxing afternoon at Souq Sharq.

IMG_4708

My mom would live very happily in the Middle East; she loves all things pickled and pureed!

IMG_4705

We had a great time gawking at the fish in the fish market. I never buy anything, and always wish I had the knowledge and gumption to do so…
IMG_4704

Business taking place at the Souq Sharq fish market.

IMG_4702

An evening stroll along the Gulf…

IMG_4697_2

Oh, my maritime husband…

IMG_4693

I liked this photo because it shows a nicely manicured street near the Parliament. Kuwait has its spots of beauty, you just have to hunt it down : )

IMG_4692

The Grand Mosque.

IMG_4691

One of my mom’s favorite restaurants was Zaatar W Zeit, at Marina Mall. She loves flatbread and spices!

IMG_4670Just another beautiful mosque in Salmiya.

There you have it, folks. Hopefully I have done Kuwait justice. I love this time of year, when the air is crisp and the sun is warm. We had a great time together, and I can’t wait to see my family back in Wisconsin in one 57 days…  not that I’m counting.

Categories: Kuwait | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Kuwaitaminute! The Best Of The Country In One Week.

  1. Good answers in return of this issue with firm arguments and describing the whole thing regarding that.

  2. Hey there! I just would like to offer you a big thumbs up for the great information you have right here on
    this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.

  3. Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this website, and
    your views are pleasant in support of new users.

  4. This paragraph is truly a nice one it assists new
    internet visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  5. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon every day.
    It will always be helpful to read through articles from other writers and practice a
    little something from their websites.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

