Hiking In The Simien Mountains: Summits, Baboons, and Smiles

Opening my eyes, I was staring at the ceiling of our tent as I felt my hipbones crackling against the cold, hardened volcanic earth. The sides of the tent were pink like the tip of my nose, and I smiled. I knew I had plenty of crisp, breaking dawn to enjoy before we set out on the trail. When you’re trekking, your body synchronizes itself with the earth. You become drowsy with the setting of the sun, and you wake energized and excited, oblivious to your caffeine addiction which exists in the real world. There is no grumbling, no hitting of snooze buttons, no suit and tie. You have only your basic needs to fulfill; the rest is your private dance with nirvana.
???????????????????????????????

As I crawled out of the tent, I rolled up my sleeping bag and tied my scarf around my head. “Let’s go, Sean!” I whispered, and pulled him into the frigid morning air. At 11,000 feet, there is not much atmosphere between you and the sunrise.

IMG_5440

We had breakfast, which consisted of coffee, tea, bread with jam, and even pancakes! (We were trekking in style, remember?)


IMG_5436

Our morning shadows at Gitch camp.

IMG_5446

As we set out on the trail, the heat of the sun quickly warmed our skin. Our first goal of the day was to summit Imet Gogo, at 12,881′. I had read that it would give us a 360 degree view of the Simiens!

IMG_5450

As we near the summit, we began to play hopscotch among the boulders. I loved the rock formations in the park, which were created by volcanic activity and then eroded into such fascinating shapes.

ImetGogoKim

By around 11am, we had reached the top of Imet Gogo. Sean snapped this panorama of me (click on it to expand on a new page) as we were taking in the sights. I was in awe of the vastness of the landscape!
IMG_5457

We ran into another group hiking, and asked them to take our picture.

ImetGogoSeanPan

Another panorama, this time of Sean. He’s on an outcropping slightly below the summit. I was at the top, taking his picture from above. This is also a great photo because you can see the next leg of our journey in the background. If you look at the wide-faced slope directly behind Sean, we were going to hike all the way to the top of that, and then to the highest peak you can see behind it. Our second summit wasn’t terribly high, but we had to hike all the way down into the valley between the two peaks!

IMG_5497

Our way down from Imet Gogo…

KimSimien2

A beautiful view along our trek. (Click on for full pan.)

IMG_5679

Our trusty scout… always guiding our way. There really is no reason for the scout to carry a rifle, except that it’s solely for tradition. We had nothing to fear the whole time we were hiking.

IMG_5572

Another gorgeous view of the cliffs of the Simiens.

IMG_5540

Can you spy me? Rounding the bend of the trail.

IMG_5524

This was our second summit, Inatye at 13, 353′. It was higher than Imet Gogo by a little bit. The peak behind me looks deceiving because Sean is shooting down to capture my picture. We were higher than that peak in the background, which is very deceiving from this picture.

IMG_5490

Sean on our way down from Inatye.

IMG_5513

More beautiful views….

IMG_5509

Don’t fall over the edge!

IMG_5492

Me pointing at the summit of Imet Gogo.

IMG_5602

Again, our fantastic scout. All he slept with at night was the pink blanket he wore over his head during the day. Not to mention he hiked the whole trail in sandals. That guy was legendary.

IMG_5593

Sean and our scout at the end of day 2. I wished more than anything that I spoke Amharic, because I am sure he had some amazing stories to tell.

IMG_5596

Washing my face at the pump at our second campground, Chennek.

IMG_5595

Sean’s dirty, dirty legs. Everything was so dusty because it was the end of the dry season. That is not a tan line, but a dirt line. Isn’t it the worst!

IMG_5630

As if climbing two mountains and capturing beautiful vistas wasn’t enough, we sat down in the middle of a troupe of Gelada Baboons.

IMG_5627

We were so close, I could barely believe it.
IMG_5648

I kept my distance from this guy…

IMG_5660

Demiss, who had no qualms about making friends with the baboons.

IMG_5656

He quickly made me feel comfortable with being near to them.

IMG_5669

We want to post this on his webpage for him! “Travel with Demiss, and have the time of your life!”

IMG_5677

Lunch time for the little lady…

IMG_5664

Abby and Demiss, just hanging out with one of the baboons. It seemed that she loved the shadow of Demiss’ leg!


IMG_5682

Up close and personal.

IMG_5680

 

Same message around the world, “Take only pictures, leave only footprints.” Will do, Ethiopia. Will do.

IMG_5678

Our camp at Chennek. It was truly gorgeous. The mountains in the background are the peaks Sean and I were hiking around the day before.

IMG_5684

One final view of where we hiked. It was really one giant fantasy world.

I have one more post on Ethiopia to share with you. We visited Addis Ababa, the capital city, on our final day. Then we tearfully boarded our plane back to Kuwait.

While I write this, I have only 43 days left here in Kuwait. I better start snapping some pictures for another blog for you!

Categories: Ethiopia | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Hiking In The Simien Mountains: Summits, Baboons, and Smiles

  1. Sharon Miller

    I had to learn more about Ethiopia after this. What an amazing history, especially the tie with Jamica. Those little baboons look like Echo from the back 🙂 The best part is that you and Sean are smiling and lovin’ each other.

  2. Sharon Miller

    Oops, forgot to say that I recognize the “family” pointing pose. You can’t have too many of those 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on FANOS Ethiopia Tours and commented:
    Simien Mountains National Park, Northern Ethiopa

  4. Pingback: Summer Is About To End, Do You Get A Good Tan? Or Do You Get An Awkward One? Maybe You Need Some Sunblock! | Thedailytop.com

  5. Pingback: The 20 Most Embarrassing Tan Lines Of This Summer | Zöpfe & Make-Up

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

