Ten Things I Love About Summers In Wisconsin

Happy July! Sorry it’s been a month since my last post, and I know I promised to keep you updated on all that is an expat’s summer in America. Well, that sounds a little grandiose. Today I’ve got the top 10 things I love about summer in Wisconsin. I am typing this on my iPad, so I’ll unfortunately have to brief. I like the WordPress app and all, but tapping out letters on a touchscreen grows tedious. Anyways, that’s not what you care about. You are interested in what makes Wisconsin so great! So, forgive me for the awkward autocompletes that I will probably overlook, and enjoy my Wisco Top 10.

#1. Watching critters cross the road.

20130705-111519.jpg

We saw this little guy as we were driving between Lake Mills and Watertown on some backroads. I have always been afraid of turtles as I’ve heard they’ve got massive chomping power, so we herded him off the road into the grass as best we could.

20130705-111523.jpg

#2. Day trips to nearby towns.

20130705-111528.jpg
I love America for the ease at which you can drive anywhere. You can just get in a car and go, no strings attached. No passport, no currency to exchange, no language to learn. (That last one sounds a bit ethnocentric, but I mean it in the most polite way. Try describing travelers diarrhea to a pharmacist in a foreign count for once, and you’ll know what I mean!)

20130705-111536.jpg
My dad and I took a day trip to Galena, Illinois in early June. He was meeting a friend for business, and he thought I’d like getting to see the town. Galena is the natural form of lead, which is how the town got its big boom back in the day. It is incredibly well preserved, from every manicured lawn to every old fashioned home and restaurant.

20130705-111547.jpg
The Desoto House Hotel was built in 1855, and Abe Lincoln gave a speech from the main balcony in support of John Fremont’s bid for presidency. Galena also holds the home of Ulysses S. Grant, which you can still tour to this day. I love exploring around the Midwest!

20130705-111554.jpg
The Main Street in Galena. Picturesque, isn’t it?

#3. My parents backyard.
#4. Sitting on the deck with my husband and my family in my parents backyard.

20130705-111618.jpg

#5. Trivia Nights! This was at Tyranena Brewery in Lake Mills, home to one of my favorite IPA’s, Bitter Woman. Needless to say, we did not triumph in trivia.

20130705-111625.jpg

#6. Watching my sister play with her horses. However, that’s an understatement. My sister is pretty much a horse whisperer. Ever since she was six, she has professionally shown horses. She went to the American Pony Finals in Kentucky when she was ten, and came in the top 50% in the nation. Not bad for a peewee, huh? This horse’s name is Luna, and Emily bought her “green”, which means the horse isn’t used to being ridden… Or brushed… Or trailered… Or anything. The day I took this photo was the day Luna took her first steps with Emily on her back. I am so proud of my little sister!

20130705-111643.jpg

#7. The Old Fashioned. If you’re a Madison native, I need not say no more. If you’re not, it’s a restaurant on the capital square that serves everything that is quintessentially Wisco. Their old fashioned are to die for, and I am in love with their portobello burger. They serve everything from deep fried cheese curds to Schlitz to Wisconsin chili and local burgers. Emily loves them for their cookies.
#7.5 Playing cribbage in a place where everyone knows cribbage and every bar has a cribbage board.

20130705-111630.jpg

#8. Korth County Park in Lake Mills. Sean and I had our two-year anniversary picnic there this year. Due to his knee surgery, we haven’t done anything too adventurous this summer, so a picnic was a perfect romantic afternoon. Korth Park overlooks Rock Lake, and is the perfect way to enjoy the glacial hills of southern Wisconsin. (If you look hard enough, you can see the pyramids in the bottom of Rock Lake…. Look it up…)

20130705-111635.jpg

#9. Going out for Friday fish frys. This was at Donny’s Girl, Southeast of Watertown.

20130705-111650.jpg

#10. Gearing up for our annual summer backpacking trip! This year we struck out for the Beartooth Mountains in Southern Montana. As I type this I am sitting in the Bearclaw Bakery as it is pouring rain. We were supposed to leave for a five-day backpacking trip today, but the weather had other plans. I am not even in Wisconsin, but I always post my blogs in chronological order. Maybe it’s a teacher thing.

20130705-111843.jpg

What is your favorite thing about how you like to spend your summer? Post in the comments below, and stay tuned for our adventure in the Beartooths!

Categories: America | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

